Skip to main content

Visual Resources : Neil Hellman Library : The College of Saint Rose: Links and Other Info

The Visual Resources office maintains the College of Saint Rose Image Collection through JSTOR Forum

A Piece of Work

A Piece of Work

Produced by MoMA and WNYC Studios. A 10-part podcast series. New episodes every Monday and Wednesday.

http://www.wnyc.org/shows/pieceofwork

Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art Online

Contains over 200,000 articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture. If that's not enough, wait there's more 19,000 images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures. *It does not slice, dice or Julianne.

 

 

 

Museums of France

Artsy has partnered with the Museums of France

France is home to a wealth of cultural institutions, and they're finally making some gems from their museum collections available online through Artsy. No more must we wade through byzantine web design and tricky language barriers to access these awesome works.


Check out all the works from participating museums here

Internet Archive

Internet Archive has added 12 million images

The Internet Archive, a great free resource for searchable-text versions of historical documents, has now added searchable images to the mix - 12 million historical images spanning half a millenium!  The images have been tagged from all of their digitized documents and are searchable by subject, time period, or text within an image.

The Barnes Foundation- Interactive Tour

Like books? Like Free stuff?

Check out all the free e-books from the Met and the Guggenheim


The respectable institutions of the Metropolitan Museum and the Guggenheim Museum have now made over 500 art books available electronically for free!  Expect more free digital content from these and other museums in the future.

Browse the Met's free publications here

Browse the Guggenheim's free publications here

Smarthistory

Smarthistory is a comprehensive guide to art history spanning from ancient works to contemporary art.  It covers the basic concepts of art movements using a variety of useful videos, essays, images, and links to other sources - a good resource if you need a refresher after AHI 101.

Visit Smarthistory

Georges Rousse

Georges Rousse, Vitry, 2007

Occassionally, Visual Resources is challenged by the limited availability of an artist's work. The French artist and photographer Georges Rousse is one of those artists, but the link below is an excellent source for learning more about the Durham Project. We hope you will explore this to better understand the artist's work and how he creates.

Want more VR news?

Want more VR?

Take a virtual tour of the library's collection, read about updates, and check out recent art world issues on the Visual Resource blog.

The Visual Resources Association

The Visual Resources Association is a multi-disciplinary organization dedicated to furthering research and education in the field of image management within the educational, cultural heritage, and commercial environments. Learn more about the VRA here: