Skip to main content

Visual Resources : Neil Hellman Library : The College of Saint Rose: More Art Resources

The Visual Resources office maintains the College of Saint Rose Image Collection through JSTOR Forum

George Eastmen Museum

Art Lecture Videos

Now on Youtube: The St. Rose Art Lectures


Did you miss a lecture at St. Joe's this semester?  Want to check out lectures from previous visiting artists?  The VR office is now coordinating with the Esther Massry Gallery Director to archive our recorded artist lectures in our YouTube channel! 

Check out our latest uploaded video, the lecture by graphic designer Michael Bierut

Michael Bierut addresses students in St Joseph Hall, September 2011

PxHere.com

Michelangelo's Moses

Pxhere.com 

What is Pxhere?
On Pxhere you may find and share images free of copyrights. All pictures are released under Creative Commons CC0 into the public domain.
Can I use your images?
You can copy, modify, distribute, and use the images, even for commercial purposes, all without asking for permission or giving credits to the artist. However, depicted content may still be protected by trademarks, publicity or privacy rights. Read more in our blog.

Online Image Resources

Other art & image resources:

There's a wealth of free image databases available online. Scroll to see our featured sites, or click the .pdf to view the whole list!

Here are some that haven't been added

https://www.google.com/culturalinstitute/home

Artsy

Mary Addison Hackett, "Turner's Vignette", 2013

Artsy is a website that has proven increasingly useful in the art world.   It's part image database, part museum and gallery liaison, part art retailer, and home of the Art Genome Project, which seeks to map artworks by style, subject matter, media, and more.  Check it out and explore some of the links - it's particularly useful in browsing up-and-coming and established contemporary artists!

Metropolitan Collection Online

Utagawa Hiroshige, Evening Snow on Hira, Lake Biwa, c.1835

The Metropolitan Museum of Art has made nearly 400,000 hi-res images of works from their collection available into the public domain. With an easy interface for searching and images ranging from Ancient Egypt to the present, it's almost as good as visiting the museum in person!

More Image Resources

The Getty Research Institute has added thousands of new images to its Open Content Program.  Two notable additions are the collections are 4,000+ images of tapestries from the 15th to 18th centuries, and the 77,000 images of Foto Arte Minore: Max Hutzel photographs of art and architecture in Italy, 1960-1990.

Per Getty:

"Hutzel comprehensively documented lesser-known monuments and churches, photographing exteriors, interiors, and an array of artifacts connected with art historical development in Italy... In some cases, Hutzel's photographs are the only records of structures or objects that have since been demolished, damaged, stolen, or rebuilt."

Check out the Inventory of Foto Art Minore or the rest of the Getty Open Content

Subject Guide

Fran Giordano's picture
Fran Giordano
Contact:
Neil Hellman Library, Room 405
The College of Saint Rose
432 Western Avenue
Albany, NY 12210
518-337-2372

Archives

Try the Archives!

Looking for primary documents, including photographs, maps, and publications? Visit the College of St. Rose Archives Digital Collection, or visit the archives in person on the third floor of the Neil Hellman Library

College of St. Rose Archives