Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, and primary sources.
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
A combined search tool. All-Knight Search allows you to search our databases, library catalog (for books, ebooks, dvds, etc.) and additional publisher data from a single interface.
Literature Review Example
Gilfoyle, Timothy J. "White Cities, Linguistic Turns, and Disneylands: The New Paradigms of Urban History." Reviews in American History 26, no. 1 (1998): 175-204. http://www.jstor.org/stable/30030879.
Database Searching Tips & Tricks
Look to your thesis statement or research question for keywords and/or phrases that express your idea.
Two ways to approach researching your topic: Broad vs. Narrow
· Choose general but relevant search terms
· Think about related terms or synonyms
· Begin with one or two search terms
· Explore topics or subject terms
assigned by a database
reform = Broad
“labor reform” = narrow
· Add additional keywords
· Choose narrower, more specific search terms
· Search for phrases by using “quotes”
· Use Filters: select item types, publication dates, etc.
Narrow = “triangle shirtwaist factory fire”
Broad = “industrial accidents”
Boolean Operators aka Connectors
Most library catalogs and databases use Boolean operators (AND, OR, and NOT) for searching.
Use quotation marks to search for an exact phrase:
Use parentheses to put search words into sets. Use nesting with AND, OR, and NOT:
reform AND (labor OR housing)
Broaden your search. Enter the root word then add an * to get variant word endings and spellings:
reform* = reform, reforms, reformed, reformers, etc.