Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Coursepacks and Supplemental Material
The Neil Hellman Library provides instructors with access to a vast catalog of scholarly material, both electronically and in print, suitable for inclusion in coursepacks and for use as supplemental course material. Trained librarians can assist instructors with discovery and selection of course material using the library's academic databases and can also provide copyright guidance. The library also provides classroom support in the way of information literacy instruction and research consultation.
Discovering Course Material Using Library Academic Databases
1. All Knight Search
All Knight Search is an all-inclusive, multi-disciplinary academic database. Use it to discover primarily books and scholarly journal articles, but also non-scholarly sources such as newspaper articles. The library recommends using permalinks, which are found in each item's detailed record, when linking to library-owned electronic content in Canvas.
2. The Library Catalog
Search the library catalog to discover books in print, owned by the library. Some detailed catalog records contain table of contents for the book. CSR instructors can request PDF scans of book chapters (no more than ~10%) from library-owned books through the library's Scan4U service.
3. Other Academic Databases
The library subscribes to 50+ academic databases. Many databases are specific to broad areas of study, such as math and science, whereas others are more discipline specific, such as ComDisDom (communications disorders literature). Use these databases to discover full-text/non-full-text books, scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, primary sources, and much more.
Additional Library Resources
WorldCat is a union catalog that itemizes the collections of 17,900+ libraries in 123 countries and territories around the world. Use it discover items you can request, either in part of in whole, via the library's Interlibrary Loan service.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that offers films and documentaries. CSR library users can access over 30,000 documentaries, classic and indie films, in additional to a variety of educational content. Instructors can link to content in the platform or embed it directly into Canvas.
Coursepacks and Copyright
Most library owned content is subject to U.S. copyright law. It is up to each instructor to familiarize themselves with the basic of copyright, especially as it relates to Fair Use and TEACH ACT guidelines. Linking to library-owned material, rather than photocopying or uploading to Canvas, is generally recommended.
Contact the library for additional support on copyrighted library-owned content.
General Questions About Library Resources
& Copyright Relating to Library Resources
Contact: Reference Desk