Company Information: General Company Information

Library Links

Back to main Business page
Library Catalog
Use the Catalog to see if the Library owns an item
Journal Finder
Use Journal Finder to see if the Library provides access to a particular journal.
Databases A-Z
Access subscription databases
Interlibrary Loan
Library Hours
Ask a Librarian

Databases

A list of databases that you should use for a general overview of the company you are researching:

Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Provides business and industry content in the following areas: Periodical articles, news articles, and press releases, detailed information for domestic and international companies and associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures, investment reports, corporate chronologies and company histories, brands and product information, Industry and company rankings, financial overviews, industry overviews, and HR Law Case Digests.

Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online is a database of corporate information covering over 22,000 US and foreign public companies. Information available for each company includes the following:
A complete corporate history including acquisitions and changes in ownership structure
Lists of subsidiaries, property holdings, and key personnel
Up to 25 years of annual and quarterly financial data, including balance sheets, income statements, cash flow statements, and financial ratios.

Rich textual descriptions - the hallmark of all Mergent publications - offer a wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies, maintaining the full integrity of this critical information.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Lexis Nexis Academic Universe is a good source for newspaper publications, business information, and legal information.

Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 2,800 scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. Also includes Company Reports and financial information.

Business Source® Premier, the industry's most popular business research database, features the full text for more than 2,100 journals. Full text is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998.

Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Premier's full-text coverage outshines its competitors in all business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

Subject Guide

Peter Osterhoudt

Contact:

ph. 518.454.2026

Web Resources

ThomasNet®
Directory of over 165,000 manufacturing companies in the U.S. and Canada. This site also features a searchable database of brandnames and over 7,000 online supplier catalogs.
Hoover's
Much of the premium content is for subscribers only, however Hoover's Online provides links to corporate home pages, capsules of business activities and more.